Headset Mics Should Be Anathema In The AV World

Lately I’ve been utterly furious with how Play Some Schtuff has been whenever I can’t use my Blue Yeti, like when recording console games, the most recent example being my quick video on Endless Ocean, easily one of my most boring videos ever.  >:-(

Endless Ocean in and of itself is a “boring” relaxing game that one can easily unwind with after a long hard day, similar to Flower on the PS3.  Then on top of the game’s inherent “Relax Trax” look and feel, my obnoxious headset mic, despite being a Sennheiser, made me sound like I was about to nod off.  The way this mic is, unless I’m trying to be the next UrinatingTree or something and do something like this…

…a headset mic will make me sound like I’m about to fall asleep and take a few fellow awake human beings with me.  😛  I’m not the only one who’s noticed this annoying issue either.  Armake21 really lowered the boom on this issue earlier.

Funny he mentioned “premium headsets.”  Reminded me of Kitchen Nightmares one time when Gordon Ramsay bashed the ridiculous idea of “gourmet nachos.”  😛  Either way, I wasn’t about to take this little technical hitch lying down.  I got my revenge, by getting a new table stand for my old pre-Yeti microphone that did all the Play Some Schtuff videos in years past.  >:-)

…then again, it’s my own fault for bothering with these headset mics in the first place.  I did do a vlog back in 2011 comparing the sound quality of various types of microphones.

I think ultimately what has gone on here is that headset mics aren’t known for their great quality, even when advertised as “deluxe gaming headsets.”  Outside of Ventrilo and heavily-compressed realtime communications that aren’t supposed to interfere bandwidthwise with online gaming, the quality of what one can upload to YouTube these days has caught up with headset mics.  It’s like all those people back in the day who used the video feature on their digital cameras for their YouTube videos.  As YouTube got better, the low quality stood out more and more, and today, HD digital and smartphone cameras and their wobbly CMOS sensors have made it pretty much a necessity to have a real camcorder even for SD videos with how low-end cameras are almost-all CMOS these days instead of CCD.

Headset mics have gone the same route.  Maybe in 2007 on a 100 MB max upload one could use their gaming headset they had lying around from their last round of Counter Strike, but not on today’s YouTube with what one can upload today (like those people who love pushing YouTube’s limits with those 10-hour loop videos lol).  I think it’s safe to say that myself and Armake shouldn’t be the only ones retiring our headset mics for good.  How about we close this entry with one last headset mic frustration video for the road.  🙂

Leave a Reply

